Glasgow in the running to be crowned European Capital of Innovation

The 6 winning cities, competing to receive up to €1 million to scale up their local innovation activities, have been announced. The cities are: Antwerp (BE), Bristol (UK), Espoo (FI), Glasgow (UK), Nantes (FR) and Rotterdam (NL).

Commissioner Moedas will reveal the European Capital of Innovation 2019 during the "EU Research and Innovation days" event in Brussels.

What is the European Capital of Innovation (iCapital) Award?

This is an annual cash prize awarded to the European city that is best able to demonstrate its ability to harness innovation to improve the lives of its citizens.

In particular cities that

  • contribute to open and dynamic innovation ecosystems
  • involve citizens in governance and decision-making
  • use innovation to improve the resiliency and sustainability of their cities

This prize enables European cities to showcase their contribution to developing local innovation ecosystems for the benefit of businesses and the wellbeing of their citizens.

Full details here.